In the Wild with Greg Wagner


GOT A GOBBLER! HOW’D YOU DO? GOING OUT? by Greg Wagner

A quick post to let you know that I was fortunate enough to bag a nice, healthy, heavy, adult gobbler yesterday late in the afternoon. He had an 10-inch beard and 1-inch spurs.

 

 

Saw and heard lots of birds. The turkeys I hunted in northern Douglas County were all pretty much separated. This tom I’m holding came in alone and silent.

 

The weather yesterday here in southeastern Nebraska was fantastic for turkey hunting and today it looks good, too! The forest I hunted was alive with a wide variety of birds and insects (I swatted a few mosquitoes and small gnats, believe it or not). I thoroughly enjoyed the smell of blossoms, all the greenery and seeing the buds on the trees after a long winter! If you’re hunting private land be sure to thank your landowner friends for the opportunity.   

So, how did you do? Did you get out? Are you going turkey hunting today or perhaps this week? Let me know how your experience was. I’d love to hear from you. Enjoy your 2010 Nebraska spring shotgun wild turkey hunt!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Greg
Congratulations in is definitely in order!!!!
Wow, what a beautiful Big turkey!! How touching is that to this mom. I know you are proud, but I also know you are NOT a Bragging person! What a wonderful SON I was Blessed with! mom

Comment by Mother

Thanks Mom! Love ya’!

Comment by Greg Wagner

nice turkey greg! i went out this weekend saw birds heard birds etc theyed answer my calls but then they go the other way! hehe im not a expert but i thought i was soundin decent. seen alota deer. im huntin in adams county by the way on private ground. c wat happens next weekend !larry

Comment by larry p

Thanks for the report Larry P. Enjoy the woods!

Comment by Greg Wagner




Leave a Reply

