In the Wild with Greg Wagner


FISH FLOWING WATER by Greg Wagner

The sheer natural beauty of the Elkhorn River in western Douglas County.

I have always had an affinity for fishing flowing water. My parents instilled in me the love of fishing flowing water when I was young boy at our cabin along the Platte River in Sarpy County. That said, my mission has been to pass along this affinity and the passion I have for river ecosystems to my own children. That’s exactly what I’ve been doing over the years and I would encourage you to do the same!   

My 12-year old son Noah fishes the Elkhorn River near Waterloo over Easter break with me shooting photos and monitoring his safety.

Nebraska has a plethora of rivers, streams and canals – some 24,000 miles of them – many of which are under-utilized as far as fishing is concerned. In my big backyard here in eastern Nebraska, we are fortunate to have three major rivers to fish – the Missouri, Platte and Elkhorn. These three, large, swiftly moving waters all have various public access points along them where you can cast lines for an array of fish. See the current Nebraska Fishing Guide booklet for specific details on public access points: http://www.ngpc.state.ne.us/fishing/guides/fishguide/FishGuide.pdf 

Here's a shovelnose sturgeon.

The fun part of river fishing is that you never know what specie of fish you might catch! You could land a sturgeon! See photo to the left. 

Of course, safety is quintessential along these rivers so never go fishing alone and watch out for each other. Keep a close eye on kids. Wear shoes,waders, etc. with good traction and even consider wearing a life jacket where the banks are steep and slippery.  

We’ll see you out there, instilling in your young folks a great love for fishing Nebraska rivers! 

Noah wavin' havin' a good time river fishin' the Elkhorn.

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I loved Noah fishing, the shovelnose Sturgeon and the beauty of the Great Outdoors. Keep the photos coming. Seeing is believing. Grandma

Comment by Mother




Leave a Reply

