In the Wild with Greg Wagner


SKUNK MAN GOES FROM SPORT SHOW TO ART SHOW by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission

Photo courtesy of Doug Carroll, Editor, NEBRASKAland Magazine.

If you had the chance to catch a glimpse of me or even chat with me at the Omaha Boat, Sports and Travel Show at the Qwest Center last week, you probably saw me donning on my one of my favorite outdoor hats – the skunk cap! I love that cap! I AM SKUNK MAN! Hmmm … where’s my cape!

In jest, my staff at the Game and Parks Omaha Office tells me that the skunk cap reflects my personality (I thought it might be my occasional lack of deodorant, ha) .

Never fear though, my skunk cap will reappear on my melon at the upcoming Platte River Art Show and Old West Rib Fest at the Eugene T. Mahoney State Park near Ashland on Saturday, April 10. The crew at the park thought it would be a neat idea to put my pic wearing the skunk cap in their flyer promoting the art show, rib fest and specifically my radio broadcast there, BIG MISTAKE!

It’s too late to warn them that I plan to bring an arsenal of outdoor-type caps that many folks see me wearing on TV to what is billed as “the most prestigious art show on the river.” What a riot this is going to be! Look out art show goers! Oh, and don’t worry, before attending the show, I will have showered, applied deodorant and a little cologne: Eau de Pepe Le Pue.

REAL SUPER SKUNK SCENT REMOVAL RECIPE

1 quart of 3% hydrogen peroxide

1/4 cup of baking soda

1 teaspoon of liquid soap

Mix together in a plastic bucket and wash the affected object, including man and beast. But, keep the solution away from eyes, noses and mouths! The skunk odor should immediately disappear. This does work!

See you out there at the park, de-scented, of course!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This recipe DOES work. We’ve used it countless times! The more you can lather it into your dog’s coat and the longer you can scrub, the better.

Comment by Sarah Johnson

Thanks Sarah for the comment. Sorry you had to use that recipe! Take care.

“Wags” — Greg Wagner

Comment by Greg Wagner




Leave a Reply

