In the Wild with Greg Wagner


Only Leaves Allowed to Fall from Trees by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
August 17, 2009, 9:57 am
Filed under: Hunting | Tags: , ,

 I couldn’t believe what I had done. What a fool! I should have checked this ladder stand to make certain it was secure before the firearm deer hunting season began. Why didn’t I have a safety harness? Where was my haul line? Crap! There I was dangling some 15-20 feet in the air above the forest floor in the woodlands of our family farm looking down at the small trees that I had pruned for shooting lanes that were waiting to impale me! Pardon the cliché here people, but I’M HOLDING ON FOR DEAR LIFE, DARN IT! I thought to myself: “If I could just swing my feet over to part of the ladder stand that shifted away from me, I could get maybe get my bearings.” Err … ah, there we go, WHEW! I thank God for success!   

 Ever since that borderline fatal day seven years ago, I am the first to tell you – fellow deer hunter – to carefully inspect your deer hunting tree stands for wear and tear now in late summer (as my oldest Son Zach and I did this last weekend) before your specific deer season opens. I am the first to tell you to buy a good, reputable full-body safety harness or restraint system that will keep you upright in the event of a fall. Don’t scrimp on the price of it either! Use it properly every time you leave the ground. I am the first to tell you to utilize a haul line to the side of your stand to raise and lower your unloaded, muzzle-covered firearm or bow to yourself in the tree. If you’re hanging stands, for safety purposes, I am the first to tell you to avoid the densely-barked trees such as old Cottonwoods where the bark has the tendency to peel off easily. I am the first to tell you to avoid climbing or using any existing permanent wooden tree stands that you find – they weaken with age, can get slick with moisture and signal danger!  

Checking Deer Stand.

Checking my stand.

 Grippingly, reports from states now indicate that falls from tree stands rival if not surpass firearms-related hunting accidents and mishaps. 

 Remind yourself – deer hunter, when it comes to the heart of the matter, your heart may not be beating at all if you fall from a tree stand! Lock into your memory bank that only the leaves are allowed to fall from the trees during autumn, NOT YOU!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂

Comment by Bill Bartmann

It is really important to make sure that you are on the safety area while you are on your hunting trips. Finding the proper and safety location would always be the first thing that you must consider.

Thanks for this post!

Comment by PARKER CYCLONE EXTREME CROSSBOW PACKAGE

Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

A definite great read…

– Bill Bartmann

Comment by Bill Bartmann-

Thanks a bunch, Bill! Enjoy Nebraska’s great outdoors!

“Wags” — Greg Wagner

Comment by Daryl Bauer

I have to say I’m glad it all worked out in the end. The part of, “looking down at the small trees that I had pruned for shooting lanes that were waiting to impale me!”, just makes me cringe.

Comment by Jean Paul Lemay




Leave a Reply

